Being Bridget Jones











{April 23, 2010}   Falling into old habits….

I’m not going to lie to you my dear followers. I have not been blogging this week because I have been busy, sick, and most of all frustrated. Why frustrated you ask? Because my diet and exercise routine has not been going as well as I hoped. I had a few really good days last week and last weekend. I was eating well, went on a jog before work a couple times, and was feeling good about the whole process. I hadn’t had chinese takeout or any kind of non-subway fast food in over a month. My weight loss is still hovering around 6 pounds. Go team Ashley!

But, the problems really started last Friday. Last Thursday, I was told that my temp job would be ending early, and we would have until Sunday to get as many hours in as we could. So, suddenly I was working 13 hour days and working on Sunday. Telling myself this was a unique situation, I allowed myself to eat the free pizza that  our employer had delivered (which is pretty awesome of my temp employers, who I love). At least I was still drinking tons of water, and eating fruit and veggies for a snack. This slow decline in my eating habits continued downhill on Sunday when I took a break to get food and instead of going to Subway, I decided what I really wanted was….more pizza? Really Ashley? I know you like pizza, but two days in one weekend?

I started eating well again on Monday morning (s0me cereal and fruit), and on Monday I took a long walk slash jog down to the Zoo and all around the zoo, which is tough. It felt good though. What did I do as soon as I finished my jog? I went out with some friends to lunch, where once again I could have taken control of my food intake but instead I decided I really wanted…..a hickory burger. With fries. And a sip of my friends milkshake. It was delicious, but pretty much worth my weight in salt and fat. I should say that I will never give up burgers. Ever. But, maybe after a weekend of already not eating well, I should have made an attempt at getting something a little healthier. The rest of the week was a complete downward spiral. I wasn’t feeling well some days, I had tons of plans, and I hadn’t gotten a chance to go on a diet friendly shopping trip. I ended up eating what was in the house, went out for chinese and ate anything covered in chili at the Nats game. It was a hot mess. A chili covered, deliciously hot mess. Awesome, but I realized I started feeling not good about what I was eating, which rarely happens to me.

But, don’t be alarmed those of you who read my blog for the uplifting optimism and witty repartee. Luckily, this week showed me a few things about my new road of wanting to get healthy. First of all, I found out what I can do to help myself eat healthier. The first thing I need to do is make sure I am grocery shopping consistently so when I do get bored or lazy, there are healthy options for me to immediately reach to. I realized that when I was bored and had healthy things, I munched on nuts or applesauce or other relatively healthy items.  Even if I didn’t want to do much cooking I could make a healthy sandwich or a lean cuisine. But, when I didn’t have a chance to go shopping, I immediately reverted back to eating crap. So, lesson learned.

Also, I learned that I need to start saying no when people offer me free food. just because they are offering me free food, doesn’t mean I have to take it. Even if I do take it, I can take less of it. One piece of pizza instead of two, or one cookie instead of three. I know I have the willpower to do this, it is just something that I will have to get used to. On the plus side, I know that I made healthier choices then I normally do. I took veggie pizzas instead of meat, and I still stuck with water and some healthy snacks. I did some exercising….it’s some improvement!Very proud now that I come to think of it.

Finally, I need a routine. I am forever planning things out and making a checklist, so why I did I think this would be any different? Hell, I plan out when I am going to clean and when I am going to do laundry or take a nap on an hour to hour basis. It’s kind of lame to be honest, but it helps keep me nice and focused. I need to start a calendar or a checklist that has a list of my meals and workouts. I think that once I have this in place, all will be progressing once again in the world of bridget jones!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
